The Chiefs training camp schedule and other news


The Kansas City Chiefs released their training camp schedule last week, and in case you missed it, the dates are posted below, along with some other recent news about the club.

This will be the Chiefs’ fifth training camp held at Missouri Western State University in St. Joseph, MO. The team signed a 10-year contract to hold their camps there until 2019, but only the first 5 years were guaranteed, meaning the next 5 years are optional each year. The Chiefs are one of 10 teams that hold their training camp in a college facility. Practices are free and open to the public, although Missouri Western charges $5 per vehicle per day. I would recommend you go and see the Chiefs in person!

Training camp will begin on Thursday, July 24. The team will hold 17 practices, with the last one concluding on August 14. Below is a chart of the rest of their practices and start times, and the preseason schedule can also be found there. As always, any practices conducted in the Griffin Indoor Sports Complex are private. Make note that the practice on July 26, in which the entire Chiefs roster will sign autographs afterwards, has a $5 admission fee (children under 3 are free).

Date Time
Thursday, July 24 3:30 p.m.
Friday, July 25 8:15 a.m.
Saturday, July 26 (American Family fun day -$5 admission fee) 8:15 a.m.
Sunday, July 27 8:15 a.m.
Monday, July 28 8:15 a.m.
Wednesday, July 30 8:15 a.m.
Thursday, July 31 8:15 a.m.
Friday, August 1 8:15 a.m.
Saturday, August 2 8:15 a.m.
Sunday, August 3 8:15 a.m.
Monday, August 4 8:15 a.m.
Thursday, August 7 Preseason Game #1 vs. Bengals 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, August 9 8:15 a.m.
Sunday, August 10 8:15 a.m.
Monday, August 11 8:15 a.m.
Tuesday, August 12 8:15 a.m.
Wednesday, August 13 8:15 a.m.
Thursday, August 14 8:15 a.m.
Sunday, August 17 Preseason Game #2 at Panthers 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, August 23 Preseason Game #3 vs. Vikings 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, August 28 Preseason Game #4 at Packers 6:00 p.m.
Sunday, September 7 FIRST REGULAR SEASON GAME vs TITANS noon

 In other news, the Chiefs wrapped up mandatory mini-camp last week. Justin Houston did not attend any of the OTA’s or mini-camp, meaning he is subject to potential fines. As you probably know by now, CB Brandon Flowers was released, so it will be interesting to see who steps up to take his place in training camp. Flowers is rumored to be picking a new team this week, and hopefully he does not end up in the AFC West.

Other training camp battles may emerge for the backup quarterback position, tight end, kicker, and slot receiver. We all know the QB situation, but it is anyone’s guess as to who will become (or remain) Alex Smith’s backup. At tight end, Travis Kelce is healthy and has been practicing, and might be the #2 tight end after Anthony Fasano. The Chiefs are facing some rare competition at kicker as rookie Cairo Santos from Tulane is giving Ryan Succop a run for his money. And at slot receiver, the position seems to be Junior Hemingway’s to lose, especially since Weston Dressler has been battling injuries through mini-camp and De’Anthony Thomas has not had much time with the team yet.

I am looking forward to seeing everyone in action in the first preseason game on August 7. Go Chiefs!

Comments
[dcwsb id="2" width="400" size="vertical" style="toolbar" inline="true" buttons="twitter,facebook,google,pinterest,stumbleupon,email" align="right"]

Comments